Just another WordPress.com site

Introduction

I’ve had this 1964 Mercury Park Lane convertible a few years now. It’s a really solid, almost-totally-rust-free car. It has a unique 25th anniversary emblem on the steering wheel commemorating Mercury’s 25th year of producing cars. The Park Lane (and lower trim level Monterey) shares a lot of body parts, interior design, and mechanical parts with the 1964 Ford Galaxie convertible, and the interior also looks a bit like the interior of an early 1960s Thunderbird.

Built on January 10, 1964, this triple-white Park Lane convertible spent most of its life in Gillette, Wyoming. The seller said it appeared in a low budget movie, but I have not been able to find anything out about that.

I bought it in December 2005 from a dealer in North Dakota and had it delivered here to Virginia. The car has a 390 cubic inch engine with a four barrel carburetor and a floor shift automatic transmission.

I’ve been accumulating parts to restore it and gradually smoothing out the dings in the body.

Before I started removing trim to do the body work, we used it for occasional pleasure rides with the top down in warm weather.

I love the long lines of this car, and the trunk is huge.

When I finish it, I’ll also drive it in parades and take it to some shows. My dream is to give it modern disc brakes, improve the engine and transmission for a combination of power and smooth running, add air conditioning, and give it some wide whitewalls and astro supreme wheels.

Then I want to put a hitch on it and tow our 1962 Shasta camper across the country for a long road trip.

It’s hard to see in the photos, but the inserts in the seats have a funny circular texture that’s called Ostrich vinyl. The seats are in decent shape, but the foam is dried out and there a splits along many seams. I believe the original vinyl material is still available, and I intend to have the seats redone so they’ll look original.

6 responses

  1. Chris

    Thank you for you postings. There were some literature I’d not seen yet. I’ve had my 64′ monterey convertible for 17 years, 1st car. You have a sweet car and I love the triple white. Chris.

    November 28, 2011 at 3:16 pm

  2. Mike Filz

    I also have a 64 Park \lane vert with buckets and a four speed. My steeing whell is in pretty sad shape as well. Do you know plac3e that can restore/remould the plastics??

    April 21, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    • This vendor who I spoke to at the Carlisle Pa. All Ford show about 4 years ago who can do it. At that time his price using your old wheel was about $1,200. He told me at thst time it takes him about four months. http://www.DandDAutomobilia.com

      April 21, 2012 at 7:42 pm

  3. Wayne Tovell

    I also own a 64 merc , hard top with the 390, love to see the pics when completed, are you leaving the American racing wheels on it or going back to hub caps, love the wheels either way, Looks great so far!!
    Wayne
    Ontario Canada

    December 10, 2012 at 5:12 pm

  4. Wayne Tovell

    one quick question, did you have to replace the rubber seals around the door windows( whiskers) i believe they are called. if so where did you get them from
    Thanks
    W

    December 10, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    • I haven’t done much so far on mine. Check out http://www.MacsAutoParts.com their catalog offers door and window seals and weatherstripping, also windshield seals. Good luck

      December 11, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

